Officers and Council

Governing Council

CAS has a governing Council made up of twelve ordinary members, a Secretary, Treasurer, Registrar, Editor, Conference Secretary, Librarian, three Vice-Presidents and a President. The Council meets four times annually and includes members who represent a wide range of interests and expertise.

Current members of the council are listed below.

Catherine Hills, PhD, FSA

Alison Taylor, BA, MCIfA, FSA
Janet Morris, BA
Alison Dickens, BA, MCIfA

Disney Professor of Archaeology
Professor Cyprian Broodbank, BA, MA, PhD, FSA, FBA

Curator of the University Museum of Archaeology & Anthropology
Professor Nicholas Thomas, BA, PhD, FAHA, FBA

Senior County Archaeological Officer
Quinton Carroll, BA, MPhil

Ordinary Members of Council

Martin Allen, MA, PhD, LittD, FSA
Imogen Gunn, BA, MPhil
Christopher Jakes, MCLIP
Anthony Kirby, MA

Alex Saunders, BA, DipArchAdmin
21 Crowlands,
Cottenham, Cambs CB24 8TE
Tel: 01954 250421 Email:

Editor - Conduit
Simon Barlow, BA(Hons), MA, MSc
c/o Haddon Library,
Department of Archaeology & Anthropology
Downing Street, Cambridge CB2 3DZ

Glynis Pilbeam, MA, PGCE
6 Cross Keys Court,
Cottenham, Cambs CB24 8UW

Hon. Librarian
John Pickles, MA, PhD, FSA
c/o Haddon Library,
Department of Archaeology & Anthropology
Downing Street, Cambridge CB2 3DZ

Stephen Macaulay, BA MPhil MCIfA
Sarah Poppy, BA, MSc, MCIfA
Elizabeth Popescu, BA, PhD, MCIfA, FSA

Simon Keith, MA, FRICS
The Palace, East Hatley, Sandy,
Bedfordshire SG19 3JA

Editor - Proceedings
Catherine Hills, PhD, FSA

Hilary Stroude BSc
The Manor, Woodside, Longstanton,
Cambridge CB24 3BU

Conference Secretary
Mark Hinman, BA, MCIfA
26 Newton Road, Whittlesford,
Cambs CB22 4PF

Representative of the Cambridgeshire Association for Local History
Honor Ridout, MA

Independent Examiner
Prentis and Co LLP