Meetings and Events

Meetings 2016/2017

ALL MEETINGS AND CONFERENCES will be held in the Law Faculty building, West Road, Cambridge (i.e. on the Sidgwick site).

Members of the Society are welcome to bring guests; junior members of the University are welcome at all meetings.

Annual subscriptions (£20.00 Ordinary members, Families and Affiliated Societies), payable to Cambridge Antiquarian Society, are due on 1 January 2017. Please send these to the Registrar who will be pleased to provide details of standing orders and Gift Aid.



Meetings list

Meetings and Events 2016/2017
*Monday 3 October
6.00
MATTHEW CHAMPION - Medieval Graffiti: the lost voices of England's churches
Monday 7 November
6.00
CHRIS WAKEFIELD - Must Farm: Pompeii of the Fens
Saturday 19 November Autumn Conference - Recent archaeological work in Cambridgeshire
(see our Conferences page for details)
Monday 5 December
6.00
CHRIS GARIBALDI - Treasures of the Turf: Palace House Newmarket, its history and role in the history of horseracing
*Monday 9 January
6.00
ALEXANDRINA BUCHANAN - Prof. Robert Willis, founder member of the Cambridge Antiquarian Society
Monday 6 February
6.00
CHRIS EVANS - Ritual logics: bodily violence and burial rites (and 'wrongs') in the Iron Age of the Cambridge region (Jointly with the Prehistoric Society)
Saturday 25 February Spring Conference - Archaeology and Conflict (see our Conferences page for details)
*Monday 6 March
6.00
DUNCAN WRIGHT - Settlement, society and legacy: the early medieval rural communities of Eastern England
Monday 3 April
5.45
(5.45) Annual General Meeting
(6.00) TONY KIRBY - Losing track: transport in Cambridgeshire, 1900-2016
Monday 8 May
6.00
PROF. WARWICK RODWELL - From Hadstock to Westminster: forty-five years of church archaeology reviewed
Friday 28 July
2.30-5.00pm
Guided tours and tea at Jesus College Cambridge
Download event details (Word .docx file)
* Meetings of Council, plus one on 5 June 2017